Celebrating the 2018 Whiting Award Winners

Whiting group photo

Last night, the winners of the 2018 Whiting Awards were announced–and among their number were a host of writers whose work we’ve admired for a while. The full list? Here you go:

  • Anne Boyer, Poetry and Nonfiction
  • Antoinette Nwandu, Drama
  • Patty Yumi Cottrell, Fiction
  • Tommy Pico, Poetry
  • Nathan Alan Davis, Drama
  • Brontez Purnell, Fiction
  • Hansol Jung, Drama
  • Esmé Weijun Wang, Nonfiction
  • Rickey Laurentiis, Poetry
  • Weike Wang, Fiction

Patty Yumi Cottrell’s novel Sorry to Disrupt the Peace was one of our favorite works of fiction of last year. We’ve also interviewed both Esmé Weijun Wang and Tommy Pico about their most recent books.

Tonight, Housing Works Bookstore Cafe will host a reading featuring this year’s winners. Things kick off at 6:30 pm; Alice Sola Kim will host.

Follow Vol. 1 Brooklyn on TwitterFacebook, and sign up for our mailing list.