Sunday Stories: “Just Add Al”

Globe

Just Add Al
by Anne Booty

You’ve blunted Al’s eye liner and she’s gonna kill you. 

Still, you mustn’t forget your tennis racket otherwise your death will have been futile. At assembly that morning you pick at the black tape on the handle, sticky glue finger nails like molasses. Eventually, the Head calls your name and you move to the front, nodding to the P.E. teacher to press play. The opening is epic played this loud, dispatching magpies from nests, awakening a mass of two hundred children. When the organ drops out, you get your axe into position and begin to strum. You may only be eleven and this may only be lip syncing to Faith dressed as a bearded kangaroo, but a girl has to start somewhere. 

Continue Reading

A Burrowing Transcendence: A Conversation with David Leo Rice

David Leo Rice

David Leo Rice has been keeping busy. Since we last spoke (about A Room in Dodge City, Volume 2), he’s published a collection of short stories, edited a book of essays on David Cronenberg, and written another novel, The New House, which provided me an excuse to sit down with him again to discuss his new novel and talk more about Jewishness in American literature, heresies, and capital-A Art (among other things). The New House is available now from Whisk(e)y Tit. 

Continue Reading

Phantoms and Friends, Real and Imagined: An Excerpt From Steven Seidenberg’s “Anon”

Anon

Two years ago, we published an excerpt from Steven Seidenberg’s Plain Sight. Now, Seidenberg has returned with a new book, titled Anon, released by Omnidawn and in audiobook form. This new book utilizes confessional devices towards lyric ends, and it’s resulted in a literary work in the vein of Clarice Lispector and Samuel Beckett. Read on for a segment of Anon.

Continue Reading