Reading This Year’s Whiting Award Winners


This year’s Whiting Award winners were announced at a ceremony last night. Each was chosen “based on the criteria of early-career achievement and the promise of superior literary work to come.” The list includes several writers responsible for work we’ve been particularly impressed by in recent years, including Tony Tulathimutte and Kaitlyn Greenidge. The complete list of winners follows.

  • Clare Barron
  • Lisa Halliday
  • Jen Beagin
  • James Ijames
  • Francisco Cantú
  • Tony Tulathimutte
  • Clarence Coo
  • Simone White
  • Kaitlyn Greenidge
  • Phillip B. Williams

If you’d like to read work from all ten, The Paris Review has excerpts from each of their work. And there’s plenty more out there, if you’re looking to brush up on these writers’ work before delving into their books. We recommend Greenidge’s “I Love Betty,” Cantú’s “Dark Work on the Border,” Tulathimutte’s “After the Dyerses,” and Halliday’s “Stump Louie.”

Library image by Sander Smits.

Follow Vol. 1 Brooklyn on TwitterFacebook, and sign up for our mailing list.