Paul Tremblay’s “The Pallbearers Club” Unlocks the Horror of Metafiction

The Pallbearers Club

Here’s a story about reading Paul Tremblay. Some years ago, I was set to fly home from Edinburgh when my flight was canceled and rescheduled for the next day. By the time lodging had been sorted out, I probably could have ventured back into Edinburgh for one last dinner, one last pin of beer. But at that point, I was fully immersed in Tremblay’s novel The Cabin at the End of the World, and there was no separating me from my hotel room. Tremblay’s very good at that — that slow build of quotidian details that seems innocuous until it turns out to have you wholly entangled.

Continue Reading

A Weird Hall of Mirrors: A Conversation with Coco Picard

Coco Picard

I first met Coco Picard over Zoom in the summer of 2020 as we outlined her novel, The Healing Circle, via LucidChart: typing plot summaries of each vignette into a shared screen, color-coding the squares full of text, wrestling the book’s nonlinear structure onto a timeline. We were in the same small group at BookEnds, a year-long novel revision program at Stony Brook University, and yes, outlining someone’s novel as your introduction to each other is just as vulnerable and nerve-wracking and intimate as it sounds. I’ve loved Coco’s work ever since.

Continue Reading

Notes on Yasmin Williams in Concert; or, How Video Games Will Save Us All

Yasmin Williams

We started playing Rock Band a couple of years ago. My kids and I arrived late one night at my brother’s. We were aiming for eight but landed at eleven. We caught a second wind and Casey asked if we wanted to try Rock Band. Video games make me grumpy for all the stereotypical geezer reasons, but it was late and my defenses were down. Plus, we’d never played the game before. I figured after a song or two we’d run out of gas, but we had a blast. We stayed up past one stumbling through various classic and alt rock songs.

Continue Reading

A Burrowing Transcendence: A Conversation with David Leo Rice

David Leo Rice

David Leo Rice has been keeping busy. Since we last spoke (about A Room in Dodge City, Volume 2), he’s published a collection of short stories, edited a book of essays on David Cronenberg, and written another novel, The New House, which provided me an excuse to sit down with him again to discuss his new novel and talk more about Jewishness in American literature, heresies, and capital-A Art (among other things). The New House is available now from Whisk(e)y Tit. 

Continue Reading

Phantoms and Friends, Real and Imagined: An Excerpt From Steven Seidenberg’s “Anon”

Anon

Two years ago, we published an excerpt from Steven Seidenberg’s Plain Sight. Now, Seidenberg has returned with a new book, titled Anon, released by Omnidawn and in audiobook form. This new book utilizes confessional devices towards lyric ends, and it’s resulted in a literary work in the vein of Clarice Lispector and Samuel Beckett. Read on for a segment of Anon.

Continue Reading

Vol. 1 Brooklyn’s August 2022 Book Preview

August 2022 books

As of this writing, we are currently hunkered down in an air-conditioned environment, given that the early days of August are a perfect example of why New York Augusts can be, shall we say, dank. Perhaps you’re following our lead; perhaps you’re doing your reading from a front porch, back yard, or beach chair instead. Either way, here are some of our recommendations for August reading. Hopefully, you’ll find something to savor from this list.

Continue Reading

Currents, an Interview Series with Brian Alan Ellis (Episode 87: Lee Matthew Goldberg)

Lee Matthew Goldberg

LEE MATTHEW GOLDBERG is the author of ten novels including The Ancestor and The Mentor, as well as the YA series Runaway Train. He’s been a finalist in various scriptwriting contests—Script Pipeline, Book Pipeline, Stage 32, We Screenplay, the New York Screenplay, Screencraft, and the Hollywood Screenplay—and his books are in various stages of development for film and TV. He is also the co-curator of The Guerrilla Lit Reading Series in New York City.

Continue Reading