The Whiting Foundation Announces Creative Nonfiction Grant Recipients

Whiting Logo

Eight writers have received grants of $40,000 each to complete new works of nonfiction. This comes via the fourth annual installment of The Whiting Foundation’s Whiting Creative Nonfiction Grant. Past recipients have included Jess Row, Sarah M. Broom, and John Jeremiah Sullivan. This year’s recipients are:

Wil S. Hylton, The Call of Empire

Channing Gerard Joseph, House of Swann: Where Slaves Became Queens

Jim Morris, The Cancer Factory

Kristen Radtke, Seek You: Essays on American Loneliness

Albert Samaha, Concepcion: A Family’s Journey on the Immigrant Wave That Changed the Face of America

Damon Tabor, The Mountain in the Burning Sky

Walter Thompson-Hernández, The Compton Cowboys: A New Generation of Cowboys in America’s Urban Heartland

Ilyon Woo, Master Slave Husband Wife: An American Love Story

The Whiting Foundation has more information on the recipients on their website.

Follow Vol. 1 Brooklyn on TwitterFacebook, and sign up for our mailing list.