A Burrowing Transcendence: A Conversation with David Leo Rice

David Leo Rice

David Leo Rice has been keeping busy. Since we last spoke (about A Room in Dodge City, Volume 2), he’s published a collection of short stories, edited a book of essays on David Cronenberg, and written another novel, The New House, which provided me an excuse to sit down with him again to discuss his new novel and talk more about Jewishness in American literature, heresies, and capital-A Art (among other things). The New House is available now from Whisk(e)y Tit. 

Continue Reading

Phantoms and Friends, Real and Imagined: An Excerpt From Steven Seidenberg’s “Anon”

Anon

Two years ago, we published an excerpt from Steven Seidenberg’s Plain Sight. Now, Seidenberg has returned with a new book, titled Anon, released by Omnidawn and in audiobook form. This new book utilizes confessional devices towards lyric ends, and it’s resulted in a literary work in the vein of Clarice Lispector and Samuel Beckett. Read on for a segment of Anon.

Continue Reading

Vol. 1 Brooklyn’s August 2022 Book Preview

August 2022 books

As of this writing, we are currently hunkered down in an air-conditioned environment, given that the early days of August are a perfect example of why New York Augusts can be, shall we say, dank. Perhaps you’re following our lead; perhaps you’re doing your reading from a front porch, back yard, or beach chair instead. Either way, here are some of our recommendations for August reading. Hopefully, you’ll find something to savor from this list.

Continue Reading

Currents, an Interview Series with Brian Alan Ellis (Episode 87: Lee Matthew Goldberg)

Lee Matthew Goldberg

LEE MATTHEW GOLDBERG is the author of ten novels including The Ancestor and The Mentor, as well as the YA series Runaway Train. He’s been a finalist in various scriptwriting contests—Script Pipeline, Book Pipeline, Stage 32, We Screenplay, the New York Screenplay, Screencraft, and the Hollywood Screenplay—and his books are in various stages of development for film and TV. He is also the co-curator of The Guerrilla Lit Reading Series in New York City.

Continue Reading